TSU Media Students Win Sixteen Awards at Regional Conference

Dept of CommNASHVILLE, Tenn. (TSU News Service) – A recent Tennessee State University graduate has received top journalism awards during the Southeast Journalism Conference convention in Lafayette, La. The awards, chosen from 440 qualified entries from 35 universities, were announced Friday, Feb. 21 at the University of Louisiana, and represent the best journalism students in broadcast, print and online news in the collegiate ranks.

Kelli Volk, a 2013 Communications major, received second place in the Best Radio News and Feature Reporter category, and fifth place in the Best College Audio News program. Volk now works for KXMC-TV 13 as an assignments reporter, the local CBS affiliate in her hometown of Minot, N.D.

Other TSU students receiving awards in the individual categories included:

*3rd place – Best Multimedia Journalist: Alicia Bailey
*3rd place – Best Television Journalist: Chantell Copeland
*4th place – Best Radio Hard News Reporter: Brandi Giles
*5th place – Best Radio Journalist: Chantell Copeland
*6th place – Best Magazine Writer – Ce’Dra Jackson
*6th place – Best Opinion-Editorial Writer: Patrick Lewis
*6th place – Best Television News Feature Reporter: Quinn Panganiban
*6th place – Best Journalism Research Paper: Jer’Mykeal McCoy
*8th place – Best Advertising Staff Member: Ashli Beverley
*10th place – Best Magazine Page Layout Designer: Brittney Bodden

The college categories included TSU winning:

*3rd place – Best Public Service Journalism: LaToya Pickett
*4th place – Best College TV Station (TSU television newscast)
*5th place – Best College Audio News Program: Kelli Volk
*8th place – Best College Video News Program: Blue Sapphire awards show
*Tied 9th place – Best College Newspaper: TSU Meter

According to Dr. Terry Likes, Chair of the Department of Communications, this is a testament to the commitment to excellence of students, faculty and the administration. Likes notes the Department’s concentrated effort to update its curriculum, hire the best faculty and staff, and improve its facilities including the opening of its Center for Media Arts and Production.

“Now we are beginning to shine and show the rest of the region that we can compete with the best in college journalism,” said Likes. “In 2012 we won one award. We took home four awards in 2013. This year we took another big step forward.”

The Southeast Journalism Conference is a vibrant learning community of journalists honing their craft through professional development and the Best of the South Collegiate Journalism Competition. An organization comprised of nearly 50 member colleges and universities in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee, SEJC was created to encourage greater interest in student journalism and to form closer ties among journalism schools in the Southeast United States.

The Best of the South competition recognizes individual student journalists and university publications. The competition consists of 23 individual and eight university categories.

Overall, 169 students from 34 universities were ranked in the 30 “Best of the South” categories. The SEJC consists of 51 member universities in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, and Tennessee.

The University of Mississippi led all schools with 19 awards, followed by Tennessee State University with 17, and The University of Alabama and Georgia State University tied with 16 each. Others with students in the final rankings included: Troy University (13 awards); University of Louisiana at Lafayette (12); Georgia College and State University (10); Samford University (11); Southeastern Louisiana University (9); Lipscomb University (9); University of Tennessee at Martin (8); Louisiana Tech University (6); Florida A&M University (6); Mississippi State University (5); University of Memphis (5); Austin Peay State University (5); Arkansas State University (5); Grambling State University (5); University of South Alabama (5); Nicholls State University (5); University of North Alabama (5); University of West Alabama (5);  University of West Florida (4);  Union University (4); University of Louisiana at Monroe (4);  University of Alabama at Birmingham (4);  Harding University (4);  Belmont University (3);  Middle Tennessee State University (2);  Mississippi College (1);  Xavier University (1);  University of Tennessee (1); University of Louisiana at Shreveport (1); and Arkansas Tech University (1).




Department of Media Relations
Tennessee State University
3500 John Merritt Boulevard
Nashville, Tennessee 37209


About Tennessee State University

With nearly 9,000 students, Tennessee State University is Nashville’s only public university, and is a comprehensive, urban, co-educational, land-grant university offering 38 undergraduate, 22 graduate and seven doctoral programs. TSU has earned a top 20 ranking for Historically Black Colleges and Universities according to U.S. News and World Report, and rated as one of the top universities in the country by Washington Monthly for social mobility, research and community service. Founded in 1912, Tennessee State University celebrated 100 years in Nashville during 2012. Visit the University online at tnstate.edu.