TSU Student Government Association Announces New Officers for 2019/2020 Academic Year

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (TSU News Service) – Tennessee State University‘s Student Government Association has a new group of officers for the 2019/2020 academic year.

The new student leadership, including a Mr. TSU and a Miss TSU, was announced by the Student Election Commission on April 5, during a ceremony in the university’s Amphitheater.

Kayla Sampson, the 89th Miss TSU, right, places the heirloom sash on the 90th Miss TSU, Jada Crisp. (Submitted Photo)

Frank Stevenson, dean of students and associate vice president for Student Affairs, along with other Student Affairs staff, was on hand to congratulate the new officers when the election results were announced.

Katelyn Thompson, of Memphis, a rising senior with a double major in criminal justice and psychology, was elected the new SGA president, while Ryan Smith, a senior agricultural science major from Atlanta, is the new SGA executive vice president.

Memphis native Jada Crisp, a rising senior business supply chain management major, won the coveted crown to become the 90th Miss Tennessee State University. Damyr Moore, as the new Mr. TSU, will escort her. Moore is a senior mass communications major from Atlanta.

SEC Chair, Jessica Fuqua, and SEC Member, Kobe Forman, announce the winners of the 2019/2020 SGA elections. (Submitted Photo)

“These new officers are an amazing group of students,” said Tasha Andrews, director of Student Activities. “The outgoing leadership did a great job and they left a nice foundation for these students to continue to build upon. We are celebrating the 90th Miss TSU, so that’s exciting and a monumental year, so we want to do some amazing things to celebrate that.”

Following is the list of the new Miss TSU court and other members of the SGA: 

Mr. Senior – Daryus Drayton – Psychology

Miss Senior – Kristian Taylor – Marketing

Senior Class Treasurer – Lawrence Evans – Criminal Justice

Junior Class President – Makayla Davis – Mass Communication

Mr. Junior – Naton Smith, Jr. – Health Sciences

Miss Junior – Maya Howard – Business Marketing

Sophomore Class Vice President – Emmanuel Wallace – Agricultural Sciences

Mr. Sophomore – Mark Davis – Mass Communications

Miss Sophomore – Mayora Berry – Mass Communications

Department of Media Relations

Tennessee State University
3500 John Merritt Boulevard
Nashville, Tennessee 37209

About Tennessee State University

With more than 7,000 students, Tennessee State University is Nashville’s only public university, and is a comprehensive, urban, co-educational, land-grant university offering 38 bachelor’s degree programs, 24 master’s degree programs and seven doctoral degrees. TSU has earned a top 20 ranking for Historically Black Colleges and Universities according to U.S. News and World Report, and rated as one of the top universities in the country by Washington Monthly for social mobility, research and community service. Founded in 1912, Tennessee State University celebrated 100 years in Nashville during 2012. Visit the University online at tnstate.edu.