TSU, Faith Community and City Officials to Begin New Year with 7th Annual Prayer Service

NASHVILLE (TSU News Service) – Tennessee State University and the Nashville faith-based community will begin the New Year with a morning of prayer during the 7th Annual Presidential Prayer Service on Wednesday, Jan. 9, at the Jefferson Street Missionary Baptist Church.

The service will begin at 8 a.m. in the church located at 2708 Jefferson Street. It is open to all university students, faculty, staff, alumni, community members and the public.

Leaders from faith-based communities across metro Nashville and Davidson County will participate in the service. As in the past, local and state leaders, including the mayor of Nashville, are also expected to speak. The service is a show of support for TSU President Glenda Glover and the university as the spring semester begins.

Senior Pastor Aaron Marble and the Jefferson Street Missionary Baptist church are hosting the event for a seventh straight year. The church has special meaning for Dr. Glover, who attended there as a student at TSU.

Glover is completing her sixth year as the first female president of TSU.

Following the service, the public is invited to attend a reception in the Fellowship Hall.


Department of Media Relations

Tennessee State University
3500 John Merritt Boulevard
Nashville, Tennessee 37209

About Tennessee State University

With more than 7,000 students, Tennessee State University is Nashville’s only public university, and is a comprehensive, urban, co-educational, land-grant university offering 38 bachelor’s degree programs, 24 master’s degree programs and seven doctoral degrees. TSU has earned a top 20 ranking for Historically Black Colleges and Universities according to U.S. News and World Report, and rated as one of the top universities in the country by Washington Monthly for social mobility, research and community service. Founded in 1912, Tennessee State University celebrated 100 years in Nashville during 2012. Visit the University online at tnstate.edu.